Sharing scripts with others open up new possibilities and we understand there might some confusion over what exactly is being shared.
There are two ways to look at it. I write a script and I share my link with you. First thing, when you open this link you see my script in "read-only" mode. You cannot edit it. Once you open the link you, my script automatically gets added to your list of scripts shared with you which are accessible in the "Shared Scripts Browser". If I make any updates to my script, you will see them too whenever you open the script from the "Shared Scripts Browser."
Here's my share link: https://earsketch.gatech.edu/earsketch2/#?sharing=LMJEag0ViOpfdyy-DKPzxQ
We see this as a good way for students to share their work with their teachers. So, teachers can access all the scripts shared by their students in the shared scripts browser. Remember, so far, you cannot edit this script.
However, if you want to re-work on my script you'd want to edit it. You do this by "Importing" this script to your own collection of scripts. You can do this by clicking on the "Import to Edit" button on the right hand top corner of your script. This action creates a copy of my script and puts it in your scripts collection which you can access in your "Scripts Browser". Now, you have your own copy of my script and you can tweak it to your heart's content and make cooler stuff with it.
We see this as a good way to share your work with your peers who'd not only want to look at your script but expand it or edit it or write comments in it. And when you have made some edits and you want to share it again with your peer you can create a new share link of the script you edited and share it with your peer.
Finally, you will also notice the script you just imported gets automatically removed from your "Shared Scripts Browser". We do this because you don't want your browser to get cluttered up with all the share links you open so it gets removed from the list once you import it.
In your case, maybe you want to work on a copy of the script I shared with you and also see what updates I make to the shared script. To do this once you have imported my script and it has moved from "Shared Scripts Browser" to your "Scripts Browser", you can simply open my shared link again which will add it to your "Shared Scripts Browser" again. Now, you have a copy of my script that you can edit and you also have my script among the scripts shared with you as a read-only file where you can monitor my changes.
If you have any thoughts or comments regarding improving this workflow or another scenario that we haven't thought of yet please feel free to give us your feedback here.
I hope this helps you and other who read this understand how shared scripts work and make the best of it.